What are the Penalties for Driving While Your License is Suspended or Revoked in North Carolina?

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “Can I represent myself on a traffic ticket?”


You may face harsh penalties and criminal charges if you have been caught driving while your driver’s license is suspended or revoked. However, you could still defend yourself against the criminal charges with the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney in North Carolina.

If you have been caught driving on a suspended or revoked license in Charlotte, Monroe Lake, or Norman, speak with our criminal defense lawyers at Arnold & Smith, PLLC. Call (704) 370-2828 for a consultation.


Police-suspended-license-Charlotte-Concord-Monroe-Criminal-defense-lawyer-244x300Why Can Your Driver’s License be Suspended or Revoked?

According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT), there are several reasons why your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked:

  • Speeding (driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit or at a speed greater than 80 mph)
  • Accumulation of a certain number of points on the driver’s license within three years
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked license
  • Driving while impaired (DWI)
  • Moving violations while license is suspended
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to pay court costs and fees
  • Failing or refusing a chemical test in violation of North Carolina’s implied consent law
  • Failure to stop after a car accident
  • Using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony

A revocation indicates that your driver’s license and driving privileges have been canceled completely.

These are some of the reasons why your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked in North Carolina. If your license has been suspended or revoked, do not hesitate to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to challenge the revocation or suspension and help you fight a traffic ticket or charges to get your license reinstated.


When Can I Drive Again After My License was Suspended or Revoked?

You cannot operate a motor vehicle until after your suspension or revocation period expires. After the end of the suspension/revocation period, you will have to pay a restoration fee to get your driver’s license reinstated. You must also meet requirements before you can be allowed to drive again after your driver’s license was revoked or suspended in North Carolina.


Penalties for Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License

Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor offense in North Carolina. While most offenses are charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor, you can be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor if your license was suspended or revoked for DWI.

A Class 3 misdemeanor is associated with fines of up to $200 and no more than 20 days in jail. A Class 1 misdemeanor carries a discretionary fine and up to 150 days in jail.

In addition to a fine and jail sentence, a driver convicted of driving with a suspended or revoked license will get an additional suspension or revocation period.


Speak With a North Carolina Criminal Defense Attorney

Do not hesitate to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney in North Carolina if you have been charged with driving while your license is suspended or revoked. Our compassionate attorneys are committed to defending you against criminal charges and helping you get your license reinstated. Contact Arnold & Smith, PLLC, to schedule a consultation today. Get a phone or video consultation by calling at (704) 370-2828 to speak with our detail-oriented and well-versed lawyers with offices in Charlotte, Lake Norman, and Monroe, please contact Arnold & Smith, PLLC today or find additional resources here.







The criminal defense attorneys at Arnold & Smith, PLLC make it their mission to zealously defend their clients on a wide range of criminal matters at both the state and federal levels. These matters may include any charge from traffic offenses; DWI/DUI; drug charges (from simple possession to possession with intent to distribute and trafficking); gun permit denials; weapons offenses; and property crimes (larceny, breaking and entering, robbery, fraud, embezzlement, white collar offenses); to sexually related offenses (indecent exposure; sexual assault, crimes against nature, removal from sex offender registry); and violent crimes (domestic violence; assault; manslaughter; homicide, murder). Other legal issues that Arnold & Smith, PLLC criminal clients may be facing include restraining orders, restraining order and probation violations, expungements; appeals; and immigration issues related to criminal charges. Our criminal defense attorneys are passionate about ensuring that individuals empower themselves by being informed about their constitutional rights, and stand at the ready to fight in the defense of those facing criminal charges.






Image Credit




See Our Related Video from our YouTube channel:




See Our Related Blog Posts:

What Happens if You Get Pulled Over Without a License in North Carolina?


Should I Fight a Traffic Ticket or Pay it Off in North Carolina?

Contact Information