Our office continues to operate during our regular business hours, which are 8:30 am - 5:30 pm, Monday through Friday, but you can call the office 24 hours a day. We continue to follow all recommendations and requirements of the State of Emergency Stay at Home Order. Consultations are available via telephone or by video conference. The safety of our clients and employees is of the utmost importance and, therefore, in-person meetings are not available at this time except for emergencies or absolutely essential legal services.

Articles Tagged with Davidson

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “What am I obligated to do if I’ve been pulled for Drinking and Driving?”

If you were pulled over and a police officer believes that you were driving under the influence of alcohol, you may be asked to submit to chemical testing to detect the presence of alcohol in your system.

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “If I simply intend to plead guilty, why do I need a lawyer?”

Mens Rea, which is Latin for “guilty mind,” is a standard in North Carolina’s criminal cases that helps prevent people from being punished when their intentions were innocent. The concept helps differentiate between an individual who intentionally committed a crime and an individual who did not intend to do it.

Charlotte Criminal Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “Do I need to hire an attorney if I have been falsely accused?”

Being wrongfully accused of a crime you did not commit is a stressful and life-altering experience. The emotional distress associated with being charged with a crime when you are innocent cannot compare to anything else.

Charlotte Criminal Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “My relationship is ending and they are threatening to call the police, how can I help myself?”

Phone harassment is a serious crime in North Carolina. You can be arrested and charged with a crime for making harassing phone calls, which involves any of the following:

Charlotte Criminal Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “What is the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony?”

While your right to carry firearms is protected under the federal constitution, depending on the circumstances you can still be arrested for carrying a gun in North Carolina. In fact, you can be arrested for having a gun without a permit during a traffic stop in North Carolina. This recently happened to a North Carolina woman traveling through New York. According to the Buffalo News, a woman was arrested for having a gun without a permit. Police officers arrested the woman during a traffic stop in Lackawanna. The 21-year-old was a passenger in a vehicle that was stopped by police for a traffic violation. She was charged with fourth-degree criminal possession of a weapon.

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “What am I obligated to do if I’ve been pulled for Drinking and Driving?”

You probably know that driving under the influence of alcohol can get you in trouble with the law, but in North Carolina, you can also face criminal charges if you are a passenger in a vehicle operated by an intoxicated driver.

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “Can I represent myself on a traffic ticket?”

In some situations, you have no choice but to exceed the speed limit. Every car owner has been in this situation at least once in their lifetime. However, how do you explain to a police officer that you had no choice but to speed? Are there any defenses to speeding violations?

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “Can I represent myself on a traffic ticket?”

If the mere thought of standing in front of a judge in court is too overwhelming or scary, you may wonder whether your criminal defense lawyer can appear in court for you. If, for some reason, you cannot or do not want to show up at a court hearing in person, can your attorney appear on your behalf so that you do not have to reschedule the upcoming hearing?

Charlotte DWI Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “Can I represent myself on a traffic ticket?”

North Carolina law prohibits driving a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. Individuals who are caught driving without a license face penalties that may include fines and a jail sentence.

Charlotte Criminal Lawyer Brad Smith answers the question: “What happens if I am convicted of a DUI or DWI in Charlotte North Carolina?”

In North Carolina, drivers who kill other persons in a drunk driving crash or while committing a traffic violation are charged with death by vehicle, also known as vehicular homicide.

Contact Information